top of page

The Soul’s Slow Ripening: 12 Celtic Practices for Seeking the Sacred

This is a good intro book on Celtic Christian spirituality and contemplative practice. There are 12 practices that are discussed which are rooted in Celtic Christianity. The author gives a brief run down about how and why Celtic Christianity is different from a historical and local context. What I found interesting and never thought about was how the monks were echoing the desert mothers and fathers of early Christianity and going into the “wilds” instead of the desert.


Each chapter starts with a certain practice, personal spiritual stories, poems and Celtic Saints are intertwined with the relaying of the practice. What I enjoyed the most was putting the practice into work at the end of the chapters. There is a Lectio Divina, a biblical context, a personal reflection, the practice, a photography and a writing exploration that expands on and invites one to dive deeper into the practice discussed in the chapter. There is always a closing blessing and a poem to help end the chapter to center and nudge you to try the practice. Some practices I liked more than others and some I will continue to do. I suggest reading the book in chunks of one chapter a week and doing the exercises to integrate and deepen your own spiritual practice.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the author and/or publisher through the Speakeasy blogging book review network. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page